Hockey Canada in Ontario

Organized hockey in Canada is governed by Hockey Canada (formerly the CHA). The CHA was formed in July 1994 when the ongoing operations of the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association and Hockey Canada were combined. The CHA changed its name in May 2003 to Hockey Canada.

There is one branch of Hockey Canada (formerly the CHA) in each province, with the exception of Ontario which has three (3) branches as follows:

Hockey Northwestern Ontario (HNO)
Hockey Eastern Ontario (HEO) and Hockey Eastern Ontario Minor (HEO Minor)
Ontario Hockey Federation (comprised of the following organizations):
Alliance Hockey
Greater Toronto Hockey League (GTHL)
Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA)
Northern Ontario Hockey Association (NOHA)
Ontario Hockey Association (OHA)
Ontario Women's Hockey Association (OWHA)
Ontario Hockey League (OHL)
The OMHA governs minor hockey in Southern Ontario outside of Greater Toronto, with the exception of those associations affiliated with the ALLIANCE.
The ALLIANCE governs various associations primarily in the Southwestern Ontario corridor, with exceptions.
The GTHL governs minor hockey in Greater Toronto and Mississauga.
The NOHA governs all hockey in the Northern Ontario region including the Northern Junior A Hockey League.
The OHA governs Junior and Senior hockey in the OHF.
The OWHA is the governing body for female hockey in Ontario.
The OHL is comprised of 20 Major Junior A clubs. The OHL is also affiliated with Hockey Canada through the Canadian Hockey League.